Longevity, morbidity, and functioning

One of our primary tasks is to describe the health status of older adults and monitor health changes during the aging process. ARC’s research takes many dimensions of health into account, including medical conditions, physical functioning, mobility, and well-being.

We believe older people’s health is the result of complex interactions between genetic, social, environmental, and biological factors over the whole life span. ARC uses information from nationally representative samples of people participating in the SWEOLD, SNAC, and Centenarian studies to identify factors that lead to better health in old age. Our researchers compare people from different age groups and different geographical areas. We also compare people at different points in their lives and groups of people at different points in time. The five projects in this area are:

  1. Social determinants of health and function in later life: a life-course approach – Stefan Fors (stefan.fors@ki.se), Anna-Karin Welmer (anna-karin.welmer@ki.se)
  2. Multimorbidity: occurrence, risk factors and consequences – Alessandra  Marengoni (alessandra.marengoni@ki.se), Sara Angleman (sara.angleman@ki.se)
  3. Leisure-time activities, social network, and health – Hui-Xin Wang (huixin.wang@ki.se), Neda Agahi (neda.agahi@ki.se)
  4. Predictors of survival after life expectancy – Debora Rizzuto (debora.rizzuto@ki.se), Giola Santoni (giola.santoni@ki.se)
  5. Centenarian study – Marti Parker (marti.parker@ki.se)

Comments are closed.