Mats Thorslund


Professor, Social Gerontology
+46 8 690 6870
mats.thorslund@ki.se
Photo - Stefan Zimmerman
Photo – Stefan Zimmerman

Mats Thorslund has a Ph.D. in sociology. Since 2003 he has been Professor in Social Gerontology at the Aging Research Center. His research includes studying trends in the living conditions and health of the elderly population, their need for care services and how these needs are met. Parallel research interests include the description and evaluation of care services, predictors of morbidity and mortality, and health inequalities. His research also includes studying social policy and its impact on elderly people, their families/caregivers as well as on the welfare state as a whole. Mats’ background in survey technique and methodology has made him an authority in the challenges associated with surveying the oldest old. He is frequently used by the government and other public organizations as an advisor. Recent governmental advisory roles include “Äldreboendedelegationen” (Housing for Elderly People) and “Värdighetsutredningen” (Caring for Elderly People with Dignity).

Mats has a long and distinguished background as a researcher at Department of Social Medicine at Uppsala University Hospital and Stockholm University. In 1993 he became Professor of Social Work, with a special focus on older adults and was also appointed scientific director at the Stockholm Gerontology Center.

Selected publications

Meinow, B., Parker, M.G. & Thorslund, M. (2011). Consumers of eldercare in Sweden: The semblance of choice. Social Science & Medicine, 73:1285-1289.

Trydegård, G.-B. & Thorslund, M. (2010). One uniform welfare state or a multitude of welfare municipalities? The evolution of local variation in Swedish elder care. Social Policy and Administration, vol 44, nr 4: 495-511.

Thorslund, M. & Silverstein, M. (2009). Care for older adults in the welfare state: theories, policies and realities. In: Bengtson, V., Gans, D., Putney, N. & Silverstein, M. (eds.) Handbook of Theories of Aging. New York: Springer Publishing Company (pp. 629-639).

Batljan, I. & Thorslund, M. (2009). Population aging: the effect of change in educational composition. European Journal of Ageing, vol 6, nr 3: 201-211.

Ahacic, K. & Thorslund, M. (2007). Aging in disguise: Age, period and cohort effects in mobility and edentulousness over three decades. European Journal of Ageing, 4: 83-91.

Parker, M. G. & Thorslund, M. (2007). Health trends in the elderly population: getting   better and getting worse. The Gerontologist, vol 47: 150–158.

Meinow, B., Parker, M.G., Kåreholt, I. & Thorslund, M. (2006). Complex health problems in the oldest old in Sweden 1992 – 2002. European Journal of Ageing, vol 3: 98-106.

Gurner, U. & Thorslund, M. (2003). Dirigent saknas i vård och omsorg för äldre. Stockholm: Natur och Kultur.

Thorslund, M. & Parker, M.G. (1995). Strategies for an ageing population: Expanding the priorities discussion. Ageing and Society, 15, 199-217.

Thorslund, M. & Lundberg, O. (1994). Health and inequalities among the oldest old. Journal of Aging and Health, 6, 51-69.

Thorslund, M. (1991). The increasing number of very old people will change the Swedish model of the welfare state. Social Science and Medicine 32, 455-464.

Name / Phone Title Sector Email
Herlitz, Agneta
Professor Psychology agneta.herlitz@ki.se
Marengoni, Alessandra
+39 030 252 8554
PhD Medicine alessandra.marengoni@ki.se
Darin Mattsson, Alexander
+46 8 690 6879
PhD Student Social Gerontology alexander.darin.mattsson@ki.se
Pantzar, Alexandra
+46 8 690 6857
PhD Student Psychology alexandra.pantzar@ki.se
Solomon, Alina
+46 8 690 5822
PhD Medicine alina.solomon@ki.se or alina.solomon@uef.fi
Salami, Alireza
+46 8 690 6886
PhD Psychology alireza.salami@ki.se
Thunström, Almira Osmanovic
+46 8 690 5862
PhD Student Medicine almira.osmanovic@ki.se
Sköldunger, Anders
+46 652 361 04
PhD Student Medicine anders.skoldunger@ki.se
Wimo, Anders
Professor Medicine anders.wimo@ki.se
Marseglia, Anna
Research Assistant Medicine anna.marseglia.se
Welmer, Anna-Karin
+46 8 690 6866
Research Associate Medicine anna-karin.welmer@ki.se
Gransjön Craftman, Åsa
+46 8 406 29 26
PhD Student Medicine asa.craftman@ki.se
Hooshmand, Babak
+46 8 690 6853
PhD Medicine babak.hooshmand@ki.se
Caracciolo, Barbara
+46 8 690 5827
PhD Medicine barbara.caracciolo@ki.se
Ferencz, Beata
+46 8 690 5806
PhD Student Psychology beata.ferencz@ki.se
Shakersain, Behnaz
+46 8 690 6853
PhD Student Medicine behnaz.shakersain@ki.se
Winblad, Bengt
+46 8 585 854 74
Professor Co-director bengt.winblad@ki.se
Garzón, Benjamín
Research Engineer Psychology benjamin.garzon@ki.se
Meinow, Bettina
+46 8 690 5808
PhD Social Gerontology bettina.meinow@ki.se
Karlsson, Björn
PhD Medicine karlsson.bjorn@gmail.com
Sjölund, Britt-Marie
+46 652 362 35
PhD Student Medicine britt-marie.sjolund@ki.se
Lennartsson, Carin
+46 8 690 5853
Associate Professor Social Gerontology carin.lennartsson@ki.se
Annerholm, Cecilia
+46 8 690 5819
Administrator Admin cecilia.annerholm@ki.se
Nilsen, Charlotta
+46 8 6906879
Research Assistant Social Gerontology charlotta.nilsen@ki.se
Qiu, Chengxuan
+46 8 690 5816
Associate Professor Medicine chengxuan.qiu@ki.se
Pimouguet, Clément
+46 8 690 5368
PhD Medicine clement.pimouguet@ki.se
Rizzuto, Debora
+46 8 690 5368
PhD Medicine debora.rizzuto@ki.se
Heiland, Emerald
+46 8 690 5854
PhD Student Medicine emerald.heiland@ki.se
Jonsson Laukka, Erika
+46 8 690 5851
PhD Psychology erika.jonsson.laukka@ki.se
Mangialasche, Francesca
+46 8 690 5832
PhD Medicine francesca.mangialasche@ki.se
Santoni, Giola
+46 8 690 5823
PhD Student Medicine giola.santoni@ki.se
Papenberg, Goran
+46 8 690 5875
PhD Psychology goran.papenberg@ki.se
Kalpouzos, Grégoria
+46 8 690 5860
PhD Psychology gregoria.kalpouzos@ki.se
Berndt, Hanna
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology hanna.berndt@ki.se
Eyjólfsdóttir, Harpa Sif
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology harpa.eyjolfsdottir@ki.se
von Strauss, Hélène
+46 8 690 5819
Administrator Admin helene.von.strauss@ki.se
Wang, Hui-Xin
+46 8 690 6867
Associate Professor Medicine huixin.wang@ki.se
Kåreholt, Ingemar
+46 8 690 6863
Associate Professor Social Gerontology ingemar.kareholt@ki.se
Svärd, Joakim Lång
+46 8 690 5870
PhD Student Psychology joakim.svard@ki.se
Fastbom, Johan
+46 8 690 6874
Professor Medicine johan.fastbom@ki.se
Fritzell, Johan
+46 8 690 6864
Professor Social Gerontology johan.fritzell@ki.se
Rehnberg, Johan
Research Assistant Social Gerontology johan.rehnberg@ki.se
Bylund, Johanna
+46 8 690 5823
Coordinator Admin johanna.bylund@ki.se
Persson, Jonas
+46 8 690 5878
Associate Professor Psychology jonas.persson.1@ki.se
Wastesson, Jonas
+46 8 690 6872
PhD Student Social Gerontology jonas.wastesson@ki.se
Heap, Josephine
+46 8 690 5302
PhD Student Social Gerontology josephine.heap@ki.se
Wallin, Karin
+46 730524894
PhD Student Medicine karin.wallin@ki.se
Kane, Kimberly
Scientific Editor Admin kimberly.kane@ki.se
Håkansson, Krister
+46 73 7080768
PhD Student Medicine krister.hakansson@ki.se
Johnell, Kristina
+46 8 690 5867
Associate Professor Medicine kristina.johnell@ki.se
Bäckman, Lars
+46 8 690 5826
Professor Psychology lars.backman.1@ki.se
Nilsson, Lars-Göran
+46 73 354 6388
Senior Professor Psychology lars-goran.nilsson@ki.se
Fratiglioni, Laura
+46 8 690 5818
Professor Director laura.fratiglioni@ki.se
Dahlberg, Lena
+46 23 778439
Guest Researcher Social Gerontology ldh@du.se
Blomgren, Lena Ragert
+46 8 690 5815
Database Administrator Technical lena.ragert.blomgren@ki.se
Johansson, Lennarth
+46 8 690 6868
PhD Social Gerontology lennarth.johansson@ki.se
Keller, Lina
+46 8 58583601
PhD Medicine lina.keller@ki.se
Hols-Salén, Linda
+46 8 690 5302
Project Coordinator Social Gerontology linda.hols-salen@ki.se
Sjöberg, Linnea
+46 8 690 5847
Research Assistant Medicine linnea.sjoberg@ki.se
Sundberg, Louise
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology louise.sundberg@ki.se
Ericsson, Malin
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology malin.ericsson@ki.se
Guitart-Masip, Marc
+46 8 690 5877
PhD Psychology marc.guitart-masip@ki.se
Hedner, Margareta
+46 8 690 5874
PhD Psychology margareta.hedner@ki.se
Wahlberg, Maria
+46 8 690 5817
Statistician Technical maria.wahlberg@ki.se
Yohuang, Maria
+46 8 690 6882
Administrator Admin maria.yohuang@ki.se
Parker, Marti
+46 8 690 6869
Professor Social Gerontology marti.parker@ki.se
Bellander, Martin
+46 8 690 5304
PhD Student Psychology martin.bellander@ki.se
Lövdén, Martin
+46 8 690 5879
Professor Psychology martin.lovden@ki.se
Thorslund, Mats
+46 8 690 6870
Professor Social Gerontology mats.thorslund@ki.se
Kivipelto, Miia
+46 8 690 5822
Professor Medicine miia.kivipelto@ki.se
Agahi, Neda
+46 8 690 6864
PhD Social Gerontology neda.agahi@ki.se
Becker, Nina
+46 8 690 5886
PhD Student Psychology nina.becker@ki.se
Schön, Pär
+46 8 690 6876
PhD Social Gerontology par.schon@ki.se
Berggren, Rasmus
Research Assistant Psychology rasmus.berggren@ki.se
Wang, Rui
+46 8 690 5854
PhD Student Medicine rui.wang@ki.se
Angleman, Sara
+46 8 690 6884
PhD Medicine sara.angleman@ki.se
Sindi, Shireen
PhD Medicine shireen.sindi@ki.se
Fors, Stefan
+46 8 690 6878
PhD Social Gerontology stefan.fors@ki.se
Kelfve, Susanne
+46 8 690 6859
PhD Student Social Gerontology susanne.kelfve@ki.se
Suthat, Vanessa
+46 8 690 5856
Administrator Admin vanessa.suthat@ki.se
Xu, Weili
+46 8 690 5848
Research Associate Medicine weili.xu@ki.se
Liang, Yajun
+46 8 690 6880
PhD Medicine yajun.liang@ki.se
Köhncke, Ylva
+46 8 690 5864
PhD Student Psychology ylva.kohncke@ki.se
Brehmer, Yvonne
+46 8 690 5835
PhD Psychology yvonne.brehmer@ki.se