Babak Hooshmand


PhD, Medicine
+46 8 690 6853
babak.hooshmand@ki.se

289bbBabak Hooshmand is currently completing his clinical specialization in Neurology in Germany. Babak is a medical doctor, has a PhD in Medical Sciences as well as a master’s degree in Public Health Nutrition. His major research interests include the impact of nutritional and vascular risk factors on dementia, cognitive performance, and structural brain changes in population-based as well as clinical-based studies.

Selected publications

Hooshmand B, Lökk J, Solomon A, Mangialasche F, Miralbell J, Spulber G, Annerbo S, Andreasen N, Winblad B, Cedazo-Minguez A, Wahlund LO, Kivipelto M. Vitamin D in relation to cognitive impairment, CSF biomarkers, and brain volumes. J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci. 2014. In Press.

Mangialasche F, Solomon A, Kåreholt I, Hooshmand B, Cecchetti R, Fratiglioni L, Soininen H, Laatikainen T, Mecocci P, Kivipelto M. Serum levels of vitamin E forms and risk of cognitive impairment in a Finnish cohort of older adults. Exp Gerontol. 2013 Dec;48(12):1428-35.

Hooshmand B, Polvikoski T, Kivipelto M, Tanskanen M, Myllykangas L, Erkinjuntti T, Mäkelä M, Oinas M, Paetau A, Scheltens P, van Straaten E.C.W, Sulkava R, Solomon A. Plasma homocysteine, Alzheimer and cerebrovascular pathology: a population-based autopsy study. Brain. 2013 Sep;136(Pt 9):2707-16.

Hooshmand B, Solomon A, Kåreholt I, Rusanen M, Hänninen T, Leiviskä J, Winblad B, Laatikainen T, Soininen H, Kivipelto M. Associations between serum homocysteine, holotranscobalamin, folate and cognition in the elderly: a longitudinal study. J Intern Med. 2012 Feb;271(2):204-12.

Hooshmand B, Solomon A, Kåreholt I, Leviskä J, Rusanen M, Ahtiluoto S, Winblad B, Laatikainen T, Soininen H, Kivipelto M. Homocysteine and holotranscobalamin and the risk of Alzheimer’s disease: a longitudinal study. Neurology. 2010;75:1408–1414.

Kivipelto M, Hooshmand B, Solomon A. Chapter 11. Cardiovascular Disease, Stroke, and Dementia. In Crawford MH, DiMarco JP, Paulus WJ, Editors. Cardiology (3rd ed).

Name / Phone Title Sector Email
Herlitz, Agneta
Professor Psychology agneta.herlitz@ki.se
Marengoni, Alessandra
+39 030 252 8554
PhD Medicine alessandra.marengoni@ki.se
Darin Mattsson, Alexander
+46 8 690 6879
PhD Student Social Gerontology alexander.darin.mattsson@ki.se
Lebedev, Alexander
PhD Psychology
Ek, Alexandra
+46 8 690 58 94; +46 70 164 35 01
Lab Manager Psychology alexandra.ek@ki.se
Pantzar, Alexandra
+46 8 690 6857
PhD Student Psychology alexandra.pantzar@ki.se
Solomon, Alina
+46 8 690 5822
Associate Professor Medicine alina.solomon@ki.se or alina.solomon@uef.fi
Salami, Alireza
+46 8 690 6886
PhD Psychology alireza.salami@ki.se
Thunström, Almira Osmanovic
+46 8 690 5862
PhD Student Medicine almira.osmanovic@ki.se
Sköldunger, Anders
+46 652 361 04
PhD Student Medicine anders.skoldunger@ki.se
Wimo, Anders
Professor Medicine anders.wimo@ki.se
Marseglia, Anna
PhD Student Medicine anna.marseglia@ki.se
Welmer, Anna-Karin
+46 8 690 6866
Research Associate Medicine anna-karin.welmer@ki.se
Gransjön Craftman, Åsa
+46 8 406 29 26
PhD Student Medicine asa.craftman@ki.se
Hooshmand, Babak
+46 8 690 6853
PhD Medicine babak.hooshmand@ki.se
Avelar Pereira, Bárbara
Research Assistant Psychology barbara.avelar.pereira@ki.se
Caracciolo, Barbara
+46 8 690 5827
PhD Medicine barbara.caracciolo@ki.se
Ferencz, Beata
+46 8 690 5806
PhD Student Psychology beata.ferencz@ki.se
Shakersain, Behnaz
+46 8 690 6853
PhD Student Medicine behnaz.shakersain@ki.se
Winblad, Bengt
+46 8 585 854 74
Professor Co-director bengt.winblad@ki.se
Garzón, Benjamín
+46 700 03 89 66
Research Engineer Psychology benjamin.garzon@ki.se
Meinow, Bettina
+46 8 690 5808
PhD Social Gerontology bettina.meinow@ki.se
Karlsson, Björn
PhD Medicine bjorn.karlsson@ki.se
Sjölund, Britt-Marie
+46 652 362 35
PhD Student Medicine britt-marie.sjolund@ki.se
Lennartsson, Carin
+46 8 690 5853
Associate Professor Social Gerontology carin.lennartsson@ki.se
Annerholm, Cecilia
+46 8 690 5819
Administrator Admin cecilia.annerholm@ki.se
Stenfors, Cecilia
PhD Psychology cecilia.stenfors@ki.se
Nilsen, Charlotta
+46 8 6906879
PhD Student Social Gerontology charlotta.nilsen@ki.se
Qiu, Chengxuan
+46 8 690 5816
Associate Professor Medicine chengxuan.qiu@ki.se
Brozzoli, Claudio
+46 700 03 89 65
Research Associate Psychology claudio.brozzoli@ki.se
Pimouguet, Clément
+46 8 690 5368
PhD Medicine clement.pimouguet@ki.se
Rizzuto, Debora
+46 8 690 5368
PhD Medicine debora.rizzuto@ki.se
Seblova, Dominika
PhD Student Psychology dominika.seblova@ki.se
Heiland, Emerald
+46 8 690 5854
PhD Student Medicine emerald.heiland@ki.se
Jonsson Laukka, Erika
+46 8 690 5851
Research Associate Psychology erika.jonsson.laukka@ki.se
Mangialasche, Francesca
+46 8 690 5832
PhD Medicine francesca.mangialasche@ki.se
Samrani, George
PhD Student Psychology george.samrani@ki.se
Santoni, Giola
+46 8 690 5823
PhD Student Medicine giola.santoni@ki.se
Papenberg, Goran
+46 8 690 5875
PhD Psychology goran.papenberg@ki.se
Kalpouzos, Grégoria
+46 8 690 5860
Researcher Psychology gregoria.kalpouzos@ki.se
Berndt, Hanna
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology hanna.berndt@ki.se
Eyjólfsdóttir, Harpa Sif
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology harpa.eyjolfsdottir@ki.se
von Strauss, Hélène
+46 8 690 5819
Administrator Admin helene.von.strauss@ki.se
Wang, Hui-Xin
+46 8 690 6867
Associate Professor Medicine huixin.wang@ki.se
Kåreholt, Ingemar
+46 8 690 6863
Associate Professor Social Gerontology ingemar.kareholt@ki.se
Seubert, Janina
+46 8 824 524 71; +46 73 712 1380
PhD Psychology janina.seubert@ki.se
Svärd, Joakim Lång
+46 8 690 5870
PhD Student Psychology joakim.svard@ki.se
Fastbom, Johan
+46 8 690 6874
Professor Medicine johan.fastbom@ki.se
Fritzell, Johan
+46 8 690 6864
Professor Social Gerontology johan.fritzell@ki.se
Rehnberg, Johan
Research Assistant Social Gerontology johan.rehnberg@ki.se
Bylund, Johanna
+46 8 690 5823
Coordinator Admin johanna.bylund@ki.se
Persson, Jonas
+46 8 690 5878
Associate Professor Psychology jonas.persson.1@ki.se
Wastesson, Jonas
+46 8 690 6872
PhD Student Social Gerontology jonas.wastesson@ki.se
Nilsson, Jonna
08-690 58 93
PhD Psychology jonna.nilsson@ki.se
Heap, Josephine
+46 8 690 5302
PhD Student Social Gerontology josephine.heap@ki.se
Wallin, Karin
+46 730524894
PhD Student Medicine karin.wallin@ki.se
Kane, Kimberly
Scientific Editor Admin kimberly.kane@ki.se
Håkansson, Krister
+46 73 7080768
PhD Student Medicine krister.hakansson@ki.se
Johnell, Kristina
+46 8 690 5867
Associate Professor Medicine kristina.johnell@ki.se
Bäckman, Lars
+46 8 690 5826
Professor Psychology lars.backman.1@ki.se
Nilsson, Lars-Göran
+46 73 354 6388
Senior Professor Psychology lars-goran.nilsson@ki.se
Fratiglioni, Laura
+46 8 690 5818
Professor Director laura.fratiglioni@ki.se
Dahlberg, Lena
+46 23 778439
Guest Researcher Social Gerontology ldh@du.se
Blomgren, Lena Ragert
+46 8 690 5815
Database Administrator Technical lena.ragert.blomgren@ki.se
Johansson, Lennarth
+46 8 690 6868
Associate Professor Social Gerontology lennarth.johansson@ki.se
Hols-Salén, Linda
+46 8 690 5302
Project Coordinator Social Gerontology linda.hols-salen@ki.se
Lidborg, Linda
Research Assistant Psychology linda.lidborg@ki.se
Sjöberg, Linnea
+46 8 690 5847
PhD Student Medicine linnea.sjoberg@ki.se
Sundberg, Louise
+46 8 690 5862
Research Assistant Social Gerontology louise.sundberg@ki.se
Morin, Lucas
Research Assistant Medicine lucas.morin@ki.se
Guitart-Masip, Marc
+46 8 690 5877
Research Associate Psychology marc.guitart-masip@ki.se
Wahlberg, Maria
+46 8 690 5817
Statistician Technical maria.wahlberg@ki.se
Yohuang, Maria
+46 8 690 6882
Administrator Admin maria.yohuang@ki.se
Olsen, Marie
023-77 84 53
PhD Student Social Gerontology moe@du.se
Parker, Marti
+46 8 690 6869
Professor Social Gerontology marti.parker@ki.se
Bellander, Martin
+46 8 690 5304
PhD Student Psychology martin.bellander@ki.se
Lövdén, Martin
+46 8 690 5879
Professor Psychology martin.lovden@ki.se
Thorslund, Mats
+46 8 690 6870
Professor Social Gerontology mats.thorslund@ki.se
Kivipelto, Miia
+46 8 690 5822
Professor Medicine miia.kivipelto@ki.se
Ding, Mozhu
Research Assistant Medicine mozhu.ding@ki.se
Agahi, Neda
+46 8 690 6878
Research Associate Social Gerontology neda.agahi@ki.se
Kaboodvand, Neda
Research Assistant Psychology neda.kaboodvand@ki.se
Becker, Nina
+46 8 690 5886
PhD Student Psychology nina.becker@ki.se
Schön, Pär
+46 8 690 6876
PhD Social Gerontology par.schon@ki.se
Berggren, Rasmus
PhD Student Psychology rasmus.berggren@ki.se
Wang, Rui
+46 8 690 5854
PhD Student Medicine rui.wang@ki.se
Angleman, Sara
+46 8 690 6884
PhD Medicine sara.angleman@ki.se
Sindi, Shireen
PhD Medicine shireen.sindi@ki.se
Fors, Stefan
+46 8 690 6878
PhD Social Gerontology stefan.fors@ki.se
Kelfve, Susanne
+46 8 690 6859
PhD Student Social Gerontology susanne.kelfve@ki.se
Suthat, Vanessa
+46 8 690 5856
Administrator Admin vanessa.suthat@ki.se
Xu, Weili
+46 8 690 5848
Associate Professor Medicine weili.xu@ki.se
Liang, Yajun
+46 8 690 6880
PhD Medicine yajun.liang@ki.se
Köhncke, Ylva
+46 8 690 5864
PhD Student Psychology ylva.kohncke@ki.se
Brehmer, Yvonne
+46 8 690 5835
PhD Psychology yvonne.brehmer@ki.se